Indian Cricket Captain Records (Test, ODI, & T20I)

India is the talent house of cricket and is widely known for producing some special talents in international cricket. But when it comes to captaincy only a few Indian cricket captains have done a remarkable job. So here is the list of the Indian cricket captain records who captained at least 100 matches.

People look up to Captaincy based on field positioning, game plans, and role distribution within the group, and some also like to lead from the front to set an example. India has been blessed with various captaincy geniuses like Kapil Dev, Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and Rohit Sharma.


Who is the most successful Indian Captain in All Formats?

MS Dhoni has 178 wins as Indian captain in all the 3 formats of cricket.

Which Indian captain has won the most ICC Trophies?

MS Dhoni has won 3 ICC Trophies as an Indian cricket captain. T20 World Cup in 2007, ODI World Cup in 2011, and Champions Trophy in 2013.

Indian Cricket Captain Records (Test, ODI, & T20I)

MS Dhoni2007-201833217912053.9136.141.4913155
Virat Kohli2013-20222131376064.3228.162.284111
M. Azharuddin1990-19992211049047.0540.721.156192
Sourav Ganguly1999-2005195977849.7440.001.245150
Rohit Sharma2017-2024118892675.4222.033.42120
Rahul Dravid2000-2007104503948.0737.501.284110
Kapil Dev1982-1987108434039.8137.031.072221
Sachin Tendulkar1996-200098275227.5553.060.516121
Sunil Gavaskar1976-198584232927.3834.520.792300