List of All Asia Cup Champions with Winning Captains

The Asia Cup tournament is played for the friendship between the Asian Countries which is regulated by ACC (Asian Cricket Council). It is played in both the ODI and since 2016 the alternate edition of this tournament has been played in the T20I format. Asia Cup is organized once every two years.

Sri Lanka, Asia Cup 2022 Champions
Sri Lanka, Asia Cup 2022 Champions

Asia Cup Champions – Stats to Focus

Which country has won the most Asia Cup trophies?

India has been to the Asia Cup champions 8 times which is the most.

Which country won the 1st Asia Cup title?

India won the inaugural Asia Cup title in 1984.

Who was the captain of the Indian Cricket Team when India won their 1st Asia Cup title?

Sunil Gavaskar

List of All Asia Cup Champions with the Winning Captains

YearFormatHostsWinners (Trophy Count)Captain
1984ODIUAEIndia (1st)Sunil Gavaskar
1986ODISLSri Lanka (1st)Duleep Mendis
1988ODIBANIndia (2nd)Dilip Vengsarkar
1990/91ODIINDIndia (3rd)Mohammad Azharuddin
1995ODIUAEIndia (4th)Mohammad Azharuddin
1997ODISLSri Lanka (2nd)Arjuna Ranatunga
2000ODIBANPakistan (1st)Moin Khan
2004ODISLSri Lanka (3rd)Marvan Atapattu
2008ODIPAKSri Lanka (4th)Mahela Jayawardene
2010ODISLIndia (5th)MS Dhoni
2012ODIBANPakistan (2nd)Misbah-ul-Haq
2014ODIBANSri Lanka (5th)Angelo Mathews
2016T20IBANIndia (6th)MS Dhoni
2018ODIUAEIndia (7th)Rohit Sharma
2022T20IUAESri Lanka (6th)Dasun Shanaka
2023ODIPAK-SLIndia (8th)Rohit Sharma