List of All T20 World Cup Winners

The ICC T20 World Cup is an international cricket championship organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), featuring national teams from across the globe in the fast-paced Twenty20 format. Since its inception in 2007, the T20 World Cup has grown in popularity, becoming one of the most eagerly anticipated events in the cricketing calendar.

T20 World Cup Winners Memorable Moments

2007: The first edition saw India clinch the title by defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final, a match that catapulted the T20 format to global prominence.

2009: Pakistan emerged victorious, redeeming themselves from the previous final’s loss by beating Sri Lanka.

2010: England won their first ICC trophy, defeating Australia in the final held in the West Indies.

2012: The West Indies secured their first T20 World Cup title, showcasing their flair and power-hitting prowess.

2016: The West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice, with Carlos Brathwaite’s four consecutive sixes in the final over against England becoming an iconic moment.

2021: Australia clinches their maiden T20 World Cup title by defeating New Zealand in the final.

2022: England became the 2nd team to be the T20 World Cup Winners twice by defeating Pakistan in the final.

T20 World Cup Winners, Winning Captains, and Player of the Tournament List

YearChampionRunner-upWinning CaptainPlayer of the TournamentHost
2007IndiaPakistanMS DhoniShahid AfridiSouth Africa
2009PakistanSri LankaYounus KhanTillakaratne DilshanEngland
2010EnglandAustraliaPaul CollingwoodKevin PietersonWest Indies
2012West IndiesSri LankaDarren SammyShane WatsonSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndiaDinesh ChandimalVirat KohliBangladesh
2016West IndiesEnglandDarren SammyVirat KohliIndia
2021AustraliaNew ZealandAaron FinchDavid WarnerUAE
2022EnglandPakistanJos ButtlerSam CurranAustralia