List of India’s Boxing Day Test Matches, Captains, & Wins

Any Test Match in cricket played on 26th December just after Christmas Day is called a Boxing Day Test Match. The Test Match will be considered a Boxing Day Test only when it is played in Australia, England, South Africa, or New Zealand. The term Boxing Day was initiated in cricket from the year 1950 onwards.

Nowadays every test match is played on the 26th of December and is globally termed as Boxing Day Test Match by the cricket community. So far from India, Virat Kohli is the only captain to have a 100% success rate while leading in Boxing Day Test Matches with a minimum of 2 matches.

List of All the Boxing Day Test Matches where India appeared along with the Results:

SR/No.DateOpponentVenueResultCaptain (IND)
126/12/1985AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundDrawnKapil Dev
226/12/1987West IndiesEden GardensDrawnDillip Vengsarkar
326/12/1991AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundAUS WonMohd. Azharuddin
426/12/1992South AfricaSt George’s ParkRSA WonMohd. Azharuddin
526/12/1996South AfricaKingsmeadRSA WonSachin Tendulkar
626/12/1998New ZealandBasin ReserveNZ WonMohd. Azharuddin
726/12/1999AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundAUS WonSachin Tendulkar
826/12/2003AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundAUS WonSourav Ganguly
926/12/2006South AfricaKingsmeadRSA WonRahul Dravid
1026/12/2007AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundAUS WonAnil Kumble
1126/12/2010South AfricaKingsmeadIND WonMS Dhoni
1226/12/2011AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundAUS WonMS Dhoni
1326/12/2013South AfricaKingsmeadRSA WonMS Dhoni
1426/12/2014AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundDrawnMS Dhoni
1526/12/2018AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundIND WonVirat Kohli
1626/12/2020AustraliaMelbourne Cricket GroundIND WonAjinkya Rahane
1726/12/2021South AfricaSuperSport ParkIND WonVirat Kohli
1826/12/2023South AfricaSuperSport ParkRSA WonRohit Sharma