No Ranji Trophy so No BCCI Central Contracts in 2024

The Indian Cricket Board officials have become very strict in the last few months and made some serious rules for the upcoming BCCI Central Contracts. They have noticed that some fit players who were not part of the Indian Cricket team for the ongoing tours have ignored the “Ranji Trophy” which is the most prestigious tournament of the domestic circuit were seen preparing for IPL.

Therefore, some players were seen prioritizing the IPL over the domestic tournaments, and keeping this thing in mind BCCI officials have made a rule that if a player is fit, not on leave approved by BCCI, and not part of any International tour will have to play the ongoing domestic tournament otherwise the player will not be provided with the BCCI Central Contract.

What forced officials to make a rule for a BCCI Central Contract?

Indian star cricketers Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer were given notices when they were already fit and showed their unavailability for the Ranji Trophy. Meanwhile, Ishan Kishan was spotted along with Hardik Pandya in Baroda while practicing for the upcoming IPL 2024 season.

Later after the 2nd test match when Shreyas Iyer was released from the Indian test squad from the ongoing tour, he was expected to play for Mumbai in the ongoing Ranji Trophy, where Iyer said to BCCI that he was having back pain so he missed the Ranji Trophy but later after a couple of days National Cricket Academy (NCA) of India mailed BCCI that Iyer was 100% fit.

These two cases triggered the officials and forced them to announce a special rule to get a BCCI Central Contract. So, It is most likely that Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer will be released from the upcoming new BCCI Central Contract.

BCCI Central Contract 2024 List of Team India – Indian Cricketer’s Salary

1. Team India (Senior Men)

PeriodGrade A +Grade AGrade BGrade C
Oct 2022 to Sept 2023INR 7 CrINR 5 CrINR 3 CrINR 1 Cr
A+1Rohit Sharma
2Virat Kohli
3Jasprit Bumrah
4Ravindra Jadeja
A1Hardik Pandya
2R Ashwin
3Mohd. Shami
4Rishabh Pant
5KL Rahul
6Mohd. Siraj
7Shubman Gill
B1Rishabh Pant
2Axar Patel
3Yashasvi Jaiswal
4Rishabh Pant
5Kuldeep Yadav
C1Rinku Singh
2Tilak Varma
3Shardul Thakur
4Ruturaj Gaikwad
5Shivam Dube
6Ravi Bishnoi
7Jitesh Sharma
8Washington Sundar
9Sanju Samson
10Arshdeep Singh
11KS Bharat
12Mukesh Kumar
13Prasidh Krishna
14Avesh Khan
15Rajat Patidar

Additionally, athletes who meet the criteria of playing a minimum of 3 Tests, 8 ODIs, or 10 T20Is within the specified period will automatically be included in Grade C on a pro-rata basis. For instance, Dhruv Jurel and Sarfaraz Khan, having played 2 Test matches so far, will be inducted into Grade C if they participate in the Dharamsala Test Match, i.e., the 5th Test of the ongoing series against England.